Open Menu Close Menu Open Search Close Search

Busitema University is a multi-campus Public University located in Eastern Uganda and established by Statutory Instrument No. 22, 2007 enacted by Parliament on 10th May 2007. The University main campus is located at Busitema, along Jinja – Tororo highway, 27 Kms Southwest of Tororo Municipality. Other campuses are located at Nagongera, Namasagali, Arapai, Mbale, Pallisa, and Kaliro.

Busitema University defines civic engagement as mutually-beneficial partnerships between the university and communities. This includes these interrelated actions:

Community capacity building: enabling community-based organizations and institutions to become strong and effective by providing support, training, and access to resources and information eg Health camps, farmer schools, field prototype testing, etc.

Teaching and learning:  involving faculty and students in solving problems facing communities.

Economic development: responding to the needs of the university and the needs of communities as Busitema University pursues its role as an economic engine.

Social development: enhancing the well-being of the diverse people and communities of Eastern Uganda by working closely with public and private institutions.

Research: advancing relevant inquiry by valuing community input, knowledge, and needs.