Open Menu Close Menu Open Search Close Search

NWFP Header 

The NWFP University of Engineering and Technology is a public, coeducational university located in Peshawar, Pakistan. It was first established in 1952 as a "constituent" college of the University of Peshawar. This college was granted the charter to operate as an independent engineering university in 1980 under the name NWFP University of Engineering and Technology. It is also commonly known as UET Peshawar The university’s degrees are highly regarded and its Civil Engineering, Electrical Engineering and Mechanical Engineering departments are well known in Pakistan. The university’s main campus is in Peshawar, with three satellite campuses in Abbottabad, Bannu, and Mardan. UET Peshawar has 10 departments: Agricultural Engineering, Basic Sciences & Islamiyat, Computer Sciences & Information Technology, Computer System Engineering, Chemical Engineering,  Civil Engineering, Electrical Engineering, Industrial Engineering, Mechanical Engineering, and Mining Engineering. NWFP University of Engineering and Technology website>>

Earthquake Response

NWFP EarthquakeThe Earthquake Engineering Center in the Civil Engineering department played key role after the October 8, 2005 earthquake. UET Peshawar places a major emphasis on preparing for earthquakes. The university has held seminars on disaster preparedness, first aid trainings for mining engineers, and research into earthquake preparedness.The University worked closely with the Swiss Humanitarian Aid organization on constructing health care facilities in the wake of the 2005 earthquake. As stated by Ali Yad Khan, a representative of SHA, "Involving Peshawar University of Engineering and Technology meant the health centre concept could be developed quickly. And account was taken of local requirements and of international earthquake-resistant building standards from the word ‘go’."