Open Menu Close Menu Open Search Close Search

Nottingham-Trent-University-logoNottingham Trent University (NTU) is a public university in Nottingham, England. It was founded as a new university in 1992 from Trent Polytechnic (later Nottingham Polytechnic). Its roots go back to 1843 with the establishment of the Nottingham Government School of Design which still exists within the university today. It is the 16th largest university in the UK (out of 165) with 26,890 students split over three different campuses.

Within the Division of Sociology, NTU entered its third year of service learning in 2016. They currently have dedicated modules across three degree courses; BA Hons Sociology and Criminology and MA Public sociology. Approximately 260 students entered the 2016 school year working with a range of community partners located in Nottingham city. The service opportunities are determined by the partners, all not-for-individual-profit organisations and meet specific needs identified by themselves and are framed within social justice concerns.