Open Menu Close Menu Open Search Close Search

First Place: Service-Learning Programme, Ngee Ann Polytechnic (Singapore)

Service-Learning Programme, Ngee Ann Polytechnic, Singapore, is our first place winner. In 2016, Ngee Ann Polytechnic launched Service-Learning (S-L) as its signature pedagogy, becoming the first tertiary institution in Singapore to strategically integrate S-L into its core curriculum. All students participate in at least one Service-Learning project tied to an academic course. Learn More.

“Since we launched Service-Learning in Ngee Ann, we have seen our students redefining themselves, becoming advocates or volunteers for various causes, finding new contexts to frame their career choices, and developing empathy, while adding value to the communities they served with. We thank the Talloires Network for recognising our commitment to engrain Service-Learning in our campus culture and are very honoured to receive the MacJannet Prize 2020. It spurs us to aim higher in Service-Learning and to share our experiences with other institutions.” – Clarence Ti, Principal, Ngee Ann Polytechnic, Singapore

Second Place: paNhari Program, University of Zimbabwe

paNhari Program, University of Zimbabwe, is our second place winner. paNhari, established in 2005 as a student-led project, empowers university students to become civically engaged through social entrepreneurship and to use innovation and business principles to improve the world. Learn More.

It is an honor to receive the MacJannet Prize, particularly during this time of the coronavirus pandemic as we have been reminded that thinking of countries, let alone communities, as separate from one another is fundamentally flawed. We are all connected and are better off with an inclusive mindset that encourages civic engagement. We are deeply grateful for this initiative and are invested in its success!” – Phil Mlanda, Co-Founder, paNhari

Third Place: Al-Qalam Program, National University of Sciences and Technology (Pakistan)

Al-Qalam Program, National University of Sciences and Technology, Pakistan, is this year’s third place winner. Al-Qalam program is a student organization that provides educational opportunities to children who are out of school due to their family’s financial limitations. Learn More.

“We at NUST are extremely delighted with this honor. The Al-Qalam program has been running for four years and we feel this prize was due recognition to the students of NUST Community Services Club who have been working day and night to make sure that education becomes the number one priority of the underprivileged communities. This prize has not only boosted student-led efforts but is also a source of encouragement for the parents of the children whose education is supported by this program. Furthermore, this prize has further inspired everyone at NUST to keep serving the community as an engaged university with more passion and vigor” – Maheen Mumtaz, Assistant Manager, Community Services, NUST

Honorable Mentions

Pontificia Universidad Javeriana Cali’s Programa Formación Javeriana para el Cambio Social y la Paz (Colombia) earned an honorable mention. Javeriana Training Program for Social Change and Peace has integrated experiential learning and community engagement into academic programs throughout the university. Learn More.

Universidad Veracruzana’s Intercultural University Student Projects (Mexico) received an honorable mention. UV Intercultural offers degree programs that generate, apply, and transmit knowledge through academic courses with an intercultural focus and ongoing community outreach projects. Learn More.

The Community Health Nature Renewal Project at Muhimbili University of Health and Allied Science (Tanzania) was also awarded an honorable mention. The goal of the project is to improve the health of Tanzania’s people by planting native trees and plants back into the gardens, school grounds, roadsides, and byways of the Ilala District. Learn More.


International Section Committee: Filliam Efiti (LivingStone International University, Uganda), Ernesto Benavides Ornelas (Tecnologico de Monterrey, Mexico), Maryam Huda (Aga Khan University, Pakistan), Sara Ghouth (Effat University, Saudi Arabia), Cliona Maher (University College Cork, Ireland), and Tony Cook and Wenke Thoman (MacJannet Foundation board members).